A Tribute to the World’s Wisest Prince

That is the hardest thing of all. It is much harder to judge yourself than to judge others. If you succeed in judging yourself, it’s because you’re truly a wise man.

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

By now you probably have noticed, from my Gravatar or my Twitter photo or from the quote at the very end of this blog, that I suffer from mild The Little Prince obsession. I don’t follow the latest trends on children’s books and I haven’t read that many to make a fair conclusion and say that this is one of the best children’s books- EVER! :)

I can, however, tell you that The Little Prince is the first book I remember reading- ever. I must have been eight or nine, and I’m sure I’ve read some books, at home & at school, before reading The Little Prince since I was a curious child obsessed with stories (I would make my mother read the same books over and over again before bedtime). But The Little Prince must have made quite the impression on me for I could remember reading the first bit of the book, coming across the passage where the storyteller explains how he had drawn snakes and adults had mistaken them for hats and I was so excited by the story that I had to rush over to my mother’s room and read the passage to her.

We read many books; some we can’t read further than 50 pages, some make us angry, some we fall in love with, some move us so deeply that we change the way we view the world around us, some we go through on a plane ride and never think about it again…

But I think there is a special place in our hearts for the first books we can remember reading. The very beginning of a fascinating, magical journey, of a life-long friendship.

You’re lovely, but you’re empty,” he went on. “One couldn’t die for you. Of course an ordinary passerby would think my rose looked just like you. But my rose, all on her own, is more important than you altogether, since she’s the one I’ve watered. Since she’s the one I put under glass. Since she’s the one I sheltered behind a screen. Since she’s the one for whom I killed the caterpillars (except for two or three for butterflies). Since she’s the one I listened to when she complained, or when she boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing at all. Since she’s my rose.

I’ve been enjoying the blogosphere very much, and the company of the wonderful book-bloggers out there that I thought I’d just take a quick break from reviewing and share this little detail and ask you about the first book that you remember reading… :)

And to show you the gravity of my obsession with this little wise prince, here are my slippers and my favourite coffee mugs! (And of course one of my dogs is called “Prince” but people usually mistake him for the musician.)

(A quick bookish update- I’ll be posting the review of The Family Fang towards the end of this week and I started reading Atlas Shrugged. I always wanted to read it but (here comes the confession-) always been kind of err… scared of it. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish it before this year ends!)

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “A Tribute to the World’s Wisest Prince

  1. Emma says:

    I loved the Little Prince too. Loved it as a child, loved it as an adult. There’s a review on my blog. I love the passage with the fox and I think it rooted my vision of friendship.

    The first book I remember? That’s a difficult question. Reading Fantômette probably. And Enid Blyton.
    If you mean “life changing experience” : Your Ticket Is Long Longer Valid by Romain Gary.

  2. This is probably my favorite book also. I re-read it at least once a year. I love the mugs!

  3. Vasilly says:

    I love your slippers. So cute! :-) Sad to say but The Little Prince is a book that’s been on my tbr list for years now.Thanks for sharing this with us.

  4. What a lovely post! The first book I remember reading all by myself is The Minpins by Roald Dahl. And you’re right, it does have a special place in my heart. It was scary, exciting and I remember feeling so proud for reading it all on my own! And I still love it!

  5. I love favourite reading posts like this one. Early reads for me included the Andrew Lang fairy tale collections, and The Tale of Peter Rabbit, at least in terms of consciously remembering choices that I made when I was taken to the library. One of the first full-length books that i remember reading was Haywood’s B is for Betsy. And The Little Prince was one of the first books that I bought with my own money when I was on a school trip and was able to go to a French bookstore for the first time (I since bought an illustrated edition in English too). It truly is a charming story!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

